about my late husband.

20 Jan

JOE1Image11

I have never wrote about Joe, the memories were always too painful, even after all these years.

I think it is time now to remember the good things, and let the pain go. 🙂

I met him when i was 15 and he was 18. he was a street smart, tough guy.LOL He had a jerry curl, sharkskin pants and shiny pointy toed shoes. HOT!

We met on a blind date, my first EVER date. He told his friends after, that he had met the girl he was going to marry 🙂

He also loved to ride horses, we would go 2 sometimes 3 times a week, he never wanted to have one though, since  he worked at a stable when younger mucking out the stalls.

The biggest gift he ever gave me was that he loved ME. he would listen and smile through my babbling theories of everything from the bible to ufos.

He could fix just about anything, and had he lived until the home computer age, he probably would have been a hacker.

He would sit for hours, fascinated, feeding  data into our son’s commodore 64,  he loved technology so much.

He was a rebel, always ready to stand by his union co-workers, and almost got run over on a picket line.

He was many things to many people; a little league coach, a Webalos leader, and Santa.

He would dress up and drive across town to be Santa for my nephews for years, he loved doing that.

His friends all adored him, he always had a new joke, usually dirty, to tell everyday.

Many may remember his infamous, ape call, LOL, he loved doing it when we went canoeing, scared a lot of folks 🙂

He was proud of his children and wanted them to be happy and pursue their dreams, always.

I still miss him, but i think I have come to the point that I understand the lesson he tried to teach me…. that no matter what, we are all worthy to be loved; even the young woman he married who always saw herself as the ogre in the mirror.

Thank you Joe, for being a part of my life, I will always cherish the short time we spent together. Loved you “old man” ……give em hell on the other side………give em hell…….:)

Joseph Polen Sr., entered this world on November 18,1947

Left this world on November 29, 1988

He was 41 years old

JOE2Image222

One Response to “about my late husband.”

  1. ladymaggic January 20, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Beautiful story..he sounds interesting..I would have loved to meet him… Thanks for sharing your story…

Leave a Reply

